Home Directory

Search Exchange

Search All Sites

Nagios Live Webinars

Let our experts show you how Nagios can help your organization.

Contact Us

Phone: 1-888-NAGIOS-1
Email: sales@nagios.com

Login

Remember Me

Directory

Majed

Reviews(28)
byMajed, August 13, 2015
i wanted to monitor cisco nexus 5000 but it needs snmpv3 so why not support it?
byMajed, August 13, 2015
how about make it support snmpv3 instead of just the previous versions?
byMajed, March 12, 2014
/usr/lib/nagios/plugins# ./check_mtr -H 94.x.y.z
./check_mtr:54:in `run_mtr': undefined method `captures' for nil:NilClass (NoMethodError)
from ./check_mtr:50:in `each'
from ./check_mtr:50:in `run_mtr'
from ./check_mtr:11:in `initialize'
from ./check_mtr:136:in `new'
from ./check_mtr:136

there is a bug in the script. i ran it under latest ubuntu after installing ruby.
byMajed, April 3, 2013
first in perl as other mentioned install Nagios::Plugin then install Crypt::SSLeay install Compress::Zlib install Class::MethodMaker
if you get the error "Permission to perform this operation was denied." the set Permissions on ESX (i) check. The created user must be in the group users and be placed under Permissions to Read Only.

if you get :
SSL_verify_mode of SSL_VERIFY_NONE for client is depreciated!
then #perl -MCPAN -e shell
#install GAAS/libwww-perl-5.837.tar.gz
#install GAAS/Net-HTTP-6.03.tar.gz
information got from the forum :
http://communities.vmware.com/message/2202177
byMajed, January 8, 2013
the plugin is zero byte in size, what is built in?
byMajed, December 13, 2011
with no performance data so it can't be graphed so it's no substitute for check mem through nrpe
byMajed, December 13, 2011
Check memory and swap usage on Windows or Linux Server using SNMP queries
on a 12 GB memory produces an error:
./check_snmp_memory.txt -H 172.16.1.100 -C snmp -w 80 -c 90
./check_snmp_memory.txt: line 123: /usr/bin/bc: No such file or directory
./check_snmp_memory.txt: line 123: /usr/bin/bc: No such file or directory
./check_snmp_memory.txt: line 123: /usr/bin/bc: No such file or directory
./check_snmp_memory.txt: line 123: /usr/bin/bc: No such file or directory
Memory usage : Go used for a total of Go (92%), SWAP usage : Go used for a total of Go (45%)| total=12873891840B;10299113472;11586502656;0 used=11957960704B;0;0;0 swap=12575440896B;0;0;0 buffer=0B;0;0;0 cache=0B;0;0;0
Owner's reply

This error indicates that the command bc was not found.

- yum install bc
- whereis bc

Regards.

byMajed, November 28, 2011
keeps saying warning although i marked all errors as repaired. simply doesn't work
byMajed, October 27, 2011
saved my day :) a great replacement for check_snmp_int which gives false critical too often, this script unlike all other traffic plugins is able to check the pppoe interface on the modem and roduce results with perfdata to graph :)
byMajed, October 12, 2011
it gives output 0 errors out 0 errors in
but i have no idea if the errors are actually 0 on my hp procurve switch
byMajed, October 6, 2011
here is a guide to set it up working to save you some time (gentoo configuration)
1. Emerge python
2. Download pywbem-0.7.0.tar.gz from http://sourceforge.net/projects/pywbem/files/pywbem/pywbem-0.7/
3. tar –xvf pywbem-0.7.0.tar.gz
4. cd pywbem-0.7.0.tar.gz
5. python setup.py build
6. python setup.py install
7. to test pywbem : $ python
Python 2.6.6 (r266:84292, Sep 14 2011, 06:53:15)
[GCC 4.3.4] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> import pywbem
>>>
8. srvmon-Bellakt plugins # ./check_esx_wbem.py https://10.1.1.xxx:5989 root password
if you get the following error (i was testing on a virtual machine)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./check_esx_wbem.py", line 75, in
instance_list = wbemclient.EnumerateInstances(classe)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/pywbem/cim_operations.py", line 404, in EnumerateInstances
**params)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/pywbem/cim_operations.py", line 219, in imethodcall
raise CIMError(code, tt[1]['DESCRIPTION'])
pywbem.cim_operations.CIMError: (6, u'The requested object could not be found')
9. to remove this error comment out memory (# 'CIM_Memory',)
byMajed, August 31, 2011
of course i don't have a failing disk to see a critical state but it shows in nagios
OK : No PFA/S.M.A.R.T errors detected
here how i set it up:
1. Copy smartpfa.vbs into nsclient directory into scripts folder
2. Paste the following line into nsclient.ini file in the [wrapped scripts] sectioncheck_smartpfa=smartpfa.vbs /nologo /T:60
3. Restart nscleint in cmd type: net stop nsclientpp then net start nsclientpp
4. In nagios define the command $USER1$/check_nrpe_smart -H $HOSTADDRESS$ -c check_smartpfa
5. In services define: define service{
use generic-service
host_name myworkstation
service_description nrpe smart
check_command check_nrpe_smart
}
byMajed, August 31, 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
it is a great plugin that produces graphs in nagios even and i used it as follows ./check_mem.pl -u -w 85 -c 90
but i wish the -f flag could be used along side the -u flag so that both free and used memory would be displayed in nagios.
byMajed, August 29, 2011
first i was getting a sudo error so i installed sudo. then i had the line 110 error so i added the line if (!defined($number)) { $number = 0; } in 110 but i started to get unknown state in command line then i added the 2 line on 110 which are :
if (!defined($number)) { $number = 0; }
if ($interface eq 'megaraid'.",".$number or $interface eq 'scsi'){
so when i run:
./check_smart -i ata -d /dev/sda
i get:
OK: no SMART errors detected|Raw_Read_Error_Rate=0 Spin_Up_Time=3175 Start_Stop_Count=0 Reallocated_Sector_Ct=0 Seek_Error_Rate=0 Power_On_Hours=30537 Spin_Retry_Count=0 Calibration_Retry_Count=0 Power_Cycle_Count=37 Power-Off_Retract_Count=25 Load_Cycle_Count=37 Temperature_Celsius=42 Reallocated_Event_Count=0 Current_Pending_Sector=0 Offline_Uncorrectable=0 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count=0 Multi_Zone_Error_Rate=0

but then when i define it in nrpe as:
command[check_smart]=/usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_smart -i ata -d /dev/sda
and in nagios as:
define service{
use local-service
host_name storage
service_description smart WD
check_command check_nrpe!check_smart!
notifications_enabled 1
i get as output in nagios:
critical: NRPE: Unable to read output
anyone had it work through nrpe?
byMajed, August 26, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
checks even if it can download a file from ftp by actually downloading it.
at first it gave me big problems such as an error like this:
Can't locate Net/FTPSSL.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /etc/perl /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.8/i686-linux
so i: #perl -MCPAN -e shell
and installed Net::FTPSSL by issuing the command install Net::FTPSSL and it took over an hour to install because it had lots of dependencies and many connection refused errors, but it worked great in the end here is the nagios output:
FTP OK - 0.035 second response time on port 21 [220 (vsFTPd 2.3.4)]
byMajed, August 26, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
though it doesn't work directly from nagios like i though i does check linux servers through nrpe gives:
OK Domain=[PLG] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 3.4.12]
had to use another plugin to check specific shares.
byMajed, August 25, 2011
checks as promises except i thought i could check directly from nagios but it turned out to work only through nrpe from the remote samba server.
example:
./check_smb_share -H 10.1.1.11 -s install
where install is the name of the folder.
byMajed, August 11, 2011
this archive is corrupt. can't tar it, please upload a fixed one.
byMajed, August 2, 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
well it does show if the interface is up or down but it didn't work with bandwidth at least not on windows machines. in the command line it does give output with bandwidth and sometimes says no usable data - 37 rows. in nagios it just gives an unknown error for the command check line:
/usr/bin/perl $USER1$/check_snmp_netint.pl -H 10.1.1.94 -C public -n Realtek -O 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2
output: unknown 2 warning levels for bandwidth checks
Owner's reply

I've not tested windows but others say it works. In above error, its saying that you did not specify warning and critical thresholds, you can add -w '0,0' -c '0,0' if you don't care to set thresholds.

Please do not rate plugins as"disappointing" if you do not read documentation and do not follow upon fairly descriptive errors. Because of you the rating was lowered by at least one full star - most rated this plugin as 5.

Also in general this plugin with its many features is not for novice nagios users. Those with extensive experience who are looking for a really good network interface check plugin understand how much it really offers.

byMajed, July 31, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
works well for a win 7 32 bit monitoring bandwidth on a physical network card but gives 0.00 on win server 2003 64bit it seems to still have an issue with 64 bit operating systems might want to check on that. i'm using the latest release.
byMajed, July 28, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
although only temp variable worked for me (not voltage or speedfan) but atleast it produced an output for temperature. here is some advice so not to repeat my mistakes: in nagios define as:
define command{
command_name check_speedfan
command_line /usr/bin/perl $USER1$/check_sfan.pl $ARG1$ $ARG2$ $ARG3$ $ARG4$ $ARG5$ $ARG6$
}
and service as:

define service{
use generic-service
host_name myworkstation
service_description cpu temperature 2
check_command check_speedfan!temp!10.1.1.29!test!5!"x>40||x45||x}
if you are running win 2003 64bit then don't do my mistake and just run injector.exe instead of speedfan.exe so it communicates with the snmp software mentioned by the author (bastart)
byMajed, July 22, 2011
[root@orcl tmp]# ./check_db_record_count.txt
./check_db_record_count.txt[63]: .: ./utils.sh: cannot open [No such file or directory]
byMajed, July 22, 2011
first i had much trouble getting the jar command to work but after it did i did everything instructed, not sure about the sql files though. i cpied just one file with the .sql extension. anyway on redhat from command prompt here is the output:
[root@orcl libexec]# ./DbCheck.java -H 10.1.1.247 -s orc1
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
import: unable to open X server `'.
./DbCheck.java: line 12: public: command not found
./DbCheck.java: line 15: syntax error near unexpected token `('
./DbCheck.java: line 15: ` public DbCheck()'
byMajed, July 19, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
the readme is not clear but i used the command check_oracle.pl to get an output and here is the output i got:

srvmonm plugins # ./check_oracle.pl
./check_oracle.pl: line 9: use: command not found
./check_oracle.pl: line 10: use: command not found
./check_oracle.pl: line 11: use: command not found
./check_oracle.pl: line 13: our: command not found
./check_oracle.pl: line 29: syntax error near unexpected token `('
./check_oracle.pl: line 29: `our %status_text = ('
Owner's reply

It works. Maybe you should do something with line-endings. This plugin is written for Oracle checks on Windows systems and it will also work on Unix systems after having line endings converted.

byMajed, July 17, 2011
great except that ot doesn't work on gentoo other than that garphs on pnp4nagios and produces output through nrpe.
Owner's reply

I'd be happy to have a crack at making it work on gentoo if you have a test box available :)

byMajed, July 17, 2011
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
works locally in nagios and through command line but doesn't work through nrpe (gives can't read output) and doesn't graph with pnp4nagios.
Owner's reply

Bug corrected in perfdata for pnp in 2.3.6. Can you retry with this new release please.

byMajed, July 17, 2011
./check_cpu_se.sh
gives output on redhat but error on command line 118 and several others on gentoo,
works through nrpe and draws graphs on pnp4nagios
byMajed, July 17, 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
works remotely through nrpe. can be graphed with pnp4nagios, does execute from command line ./check_cpu.sh but doesn't work locally when defined in nagios services and commands says (timeout) that's at least on gentoo.