Home Directory Plugins Network Protocols SNMP Advanced Network Interface Check - check_netint / check_snmp_netint

Search Exchange

Search All Sites

Nagios Live Webinars

Let our experts show you how Nagios can help your organization.

Contact Us

Phone: 1-888-NAGIOS-1
Email: sales@nagios.com

Login

Remember Me

Advanced Network Interface Check - check_netint / check_snmp_netint

Current Version
2.36 (stable) and 2.4a9 (beta)
Last Release Date
2012-11-30
Compatible With
  • Nagios 2.x
  • Nagios 3.x
  • Nagios XI
  • Nagios Fusion
Owner
License
GPL
Hits
221771
Files:
FileDescription
check_snmp_netint.plcheck_snmp_netint.pl (2.23 - old release, Oct 08)
check_snmp_netint_21.plcheck_snmp_netint.pl (2.16 - old release, Feb 08)
check_snmp_netint.plcheck_snmp_netint.pl (2.36 - June 2012) - probably last 2.3 release, 2.4 beta coming soon
check_netint.plcheck_netint.pl (2.4a9 - Nov 2012) - this is a development release of a new version for testing, new features include support for checking linux interface locally, support for bulk snmp queries and more
Network Monitoring Software - Download Nagios XI
Log Management Software - Nagios Log Server - Download
Netflow Analysis Software - Nagios Network Analyzer - Download
This plugin checks port status, STP, traffic and errors data of network interfaces. It is optimized for faster execution and has advanced support of cisco switches. Starting with 2.4 version it be used both with SNMP and run locally on linux servers. The plugin can use previous run perfdata for bandwidth calculations which avoids creation of temporary files.
This is a plugin for nagios to check network interfaces (network ports) on servers, switches and routers. Originally based on check_snmp_int.pl plugin it has extensive rewrites for performance improvements (caching improved execution time by up to 100%) and better support for cisco switches (cisco port names, port link and operational status data) and checking of STP (spanning tree protocol) status.

Possibly most feature is ability to calculate traffic & utilization data from counters without creation of temporary files as plugin can store and re-use previous performance data with -P option. More than one set of previous history data can be stored and used for calculation which gives more accurate results and smoother curve. For these features you can use '--pcount=?' parameter to control how many previous history data are to be used and '--delta=?' to set how often plugin runs on your system so that old data is not used for calculations. If you're using -P option to pass performance data back to plugin then you may (depending on version of nagios) also need to modify nagios.cfg and remove ' from illegal_macro_output_chars=`~$&|'"<> line, i.e. change to
illegal_macro_output_chars=`~$&|"<>

In version 2.4 (in beta until end of 2012) the plugin added support for checking network interfaces directly on linux machine without SNMP. This version also added support for SNMP bulk queries, which allows to check all ports on big switches. Starting this version specifying network port name or regex with -n is optional and by default plugin will check all ports together.

Thresholds are normally set with '-w' and '-c' options or you can use '-z' option if you just want to get performance data and utilization data but don't want to set thresholds.
Note that you may need to use -k and/or -q options to enable perf data output for graphing programs.

Documentation for this plugin is contained within header of the perl code (several pages long). You can also do check_snmp_netint --help and will get fairly good overview and what options should be used.
Reviews (25)
Hi,
I use this plugin a lot and I would like to make some suggestions.

1. When -f is used with --stp and --intspeed, I get stp and intspeed in the performance output, is there a way to avoid that ? (I tried with and without -S)

2. Checking the duplex mode could be great, for example by adding --intspeed=100Mb/full or 100Mb/half as options.

Thanks anyway for that great software.
Owner's reply

Right now I'm working on a new version of this plugin that will add functionality to --intspeed. So contact me privately and explain your suggestions in more detail.

byvvm7ua, May 24, 2012
William, you can add a template for pnp4nagios to the repository. template can be downloaded from my page - http://worm.org.ua/projects/nagios/
Owner's reply

I appreciate that. But simple template I already have in the repository. What is needed is pnp4nagios template that can handle multiple interfaces checked together, like I have with check_linux_procstat which handles any number of cpus. I'll work on that at some point if nobody else contributes.

byfuna, February 16, 2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
This is a great SNMP plugin for switches and routers. Many features and great support.
byNapsty, November 15, 2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
I've used check_snmp_int for a long time until I came across this 'fork'. Well it seems to be working good so far (tested on Cisco switches), but I'd like to have the possibility to output perfdata of the interface usage _without_ having to declare warning and critical thresholds (-k). If this feature could be added that would be great.
Owner's reply

Setting warning and/or critical threshold of 0 would cause it to be ignored. This is documented in the header examples

byMajed, August 2, 2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful
well it does show if the interface is up or down but it didn't work with bandwidth at least not on windows machines. in the command line it does give output with bandwidth and sometimes says no usable data - 37 rows. in nagios it just gives an unknown error for the command check line:
/usr/bin/perl $USER1$/check_snmp_netint.pl -H 10.1.1.94 -C public -n Realtek -O 1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.2
output: unknown 2 warning levels for bandwidth checks
Owner's reply

I've not tested windows but others say it works. In above error, its saying that you did not specify warning and critical thresholds, you can add -w '0,0' -c '0,0' if you don't care to set thresholds.

Please do not rate plugins as"disappointing" if you do not read documentation and do not follow upon fairly descriptive errors. Because of you the rating was lowered by at least one full star - most rated this plugin as 5.

Also in general this plugin with its many features is not for novice nagios users. Those with extensive experience who are looking for a really good network interface check plugin understand how much it really offers.

Page 2 of 2