Home Directory

Search Exchange

Search All Sites

Nagios Live Webinars

Let our experts show you how Nagios can help your organization.

Contact Us

Phone: 1-888-NAGIOS-1
Email: sales@nagios.com

Login

Remember Me

Directory

jabbasi

Reviews(7)
byjabbasi, June 13, 2013
Could not download the script itself it opened in webage. So I copied and pasted it in vi.

When I run it it executes bit it always gives me that Critical warning and all CPUs running at 99% no matter when I run it its same
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_linux_procstat.pl -w 70 -c 80
CRITICAL - 4 CPUs - CPU(all) 99.0% used > 80%, CPU0 99.0% used > 80%, CPU1 99.0% used > 80%, CPU2 99.0% used > 80%, CPU3 99.0% used > 80%
nagios@cubic:~>
Owner's reply

There are some systems where total of user+system+io comes to 99%. This may well be normal for your system (and good if its so) and you should not complain and say the plugin does not work. So this 1-star rating is totally uncalled for and previously plugin had only 5-star ratings.

The plugin itself is mostly used for graphing of system load using provided pnp template. It is the only plugin that allows you to have this comprehensive User/System/IO graphs and people have thanked me for that many times.

But I would agree that main plugin functionality should be improved and status line show have user/system/io percentages too and then people would not get surprised they see 99% total. I'll add this sometime this year.

byjabbasi, June 13, 2013
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
1: Can't download the file; had to copy from browser and past it in vi
2: not enough instruction how to set it up and what it needs to run
3: no instructions on how to run it and pass parameters to it.
4: Doesn't which perl version it needs
I tried to run it and I got following line
I do have perl installed
nagios@wlnagios:~> which perl
/usr/bin/perl
nagios@wlnagios:~>

nagios@wlnagios:~> ./check_cpu.pl
Can't locate Getopt/Compact.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/5.10.0 /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.10.0 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.10.0/x86_64-linux-thread-multi /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.10.0 /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl .) at ./check_cpu.pl line 5.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at ./check_cpu.pl line 5.
byjabbasi, May 22, 2013
I am using SUSE 11 and when i run this i am getting
nagios@cubic:~> ./check_cpu -c 95 -w 90
expr: syntax error
OK - CPU used=% idle=% | 'CPU Usage'=%;90;95;
nagios@cubic:~>
byjabbasi, May 22, 2013
Hi
Is there any reason it print such a huge user percent of 5599%
nagios@cubic:~> ./chk_perf_cpu.sh -uw 70 -iw 95 -sw 85 -uc 80 -ic 98 -sc 95 -n 5
CPU CRITICAL : user=5599% system=10% iowait=88% idle=2% | cpu_user=5599%;70;80; cpu_sys=10%;85;95; cpu_iowait=88%;95;98; cpu_idle=2%;
nagios@cubic:~>
byjabbasi, May 21, 2013
I tired this it works in simple and straight forward cases but fails in bit odd situations.
For example
$ ./check_procs2 gurjobs eq 1 and daemon Prod eq 1
./check_procs2: incomplete expression

In my case "daemon PROD" is one process; if I put just a 'daemon' or just 'PROD' its not going to work because there are lots of other daemons on host and processes also that have PROD in them but I need to watch these 2 specific processed only.
It will also be nice if user option can be added so that if there processes that share a name but run by different users; then you can extract them out.
byjabbasi, May 13, 2013
Not sure what I am doing wrong but I took this scrpit and running it without changing anything from command like and i am getting this error and its not returning any values

nagios@cubic:~> ./check_CPU_Perf.sh 20 10
./check_CPU_Perf.sh: line 200: [: -lt: unary operator expected
./check_CPU_Perf.sh: line 204: [: -lt: unary operator expected
OK: i686
nagios@cubic:~>

While sar is executable and can be executed by user nagios
nagios@cubic:~> sar -u
Linux 2.4.19-64GB-SMP (cubic) 05/13/2013

12:00:00 AM CPU %user %nice %system %idle
12:10:00 AM all 3.15 0.00 0.97 95.88
12:20:00 AM all 4.15 0.04 1.11 94.70
12:30:00 AM all 3.69 0.00 0.97 95.34
12:40:00 AM all 3.22 0.00 0.87 95.91
12:50:00 AM all 3.16 0.00 0.90 95.94
01:00:00 AM all 2.95 0.00 0.88 96.17
01:10:00 AM all 7.66 1.98 3.88 86.48
01:20:00 AM all 3.91 0.00 1.14 94.95
01:30:00 AM all 2.84 0.00 0.89 96.27
01:40:00 AM all 2.98 0.00 0.86 96.16
01:50:00 AM all 2.98 0.00 0.96 96.06
02:00:00 AM all 2.91 0.00 0.89 96.20
02:10:00 AM all 2.66 0.00 0.86 96.48
02:20:00 AM all 2.73 0.00 0.83 96.44
02:30:00 AM all 2.99 0.00 1.13 95.88
02:40:00 AM all 1.96 0.00 0.72 97.32
02:50:00 AM all 2.21 0.00 0.74 97.04
03:00:00 AM all 2.81 0.00 0.83 96.36
03:10:00 AM all 3.02 0.00 0.89 96.09
03:20:00 AM all 2.71 0.00 0.79 96.50
03:30:00 AM all 2.97 0.00 0.87 96.16
03:40:00 AM all 2.41 0.00 0.76 96.83
03:50:00 AM all 2.31 0.00 0.72 96.97
04:00:00 AM all 2.18 0.00 0.71 97.11
04:10:00 AM all 2.20 0.00 0.73 97.07
04:20:00 AM all 1.97 0.00 0.71 97.31
04:30:00 AM all 2.61 0.00 0.85 96.53
04:40:00 AM all 2.23 0.00 0.71 97.06
04:50:00 AM all 2.11 0.00 0.69 97.20
05:00:00 AM all 2.46 0.00 0.81 96.73
05:10:00 AM all 2.30 0.00 0.73 96.98
05:20:00 AM all 2.09 0.00 0.69 97.22
05:30:00 AM all 2.39 0.00 0.78 96.83
05:40:00 AM all 2.28 0.00 0.74 96.98
05:50:01 AM all 2.17 0.00 0.71 97.12
06:00:01 AM all 1.99 0.00 0.69 97.32
06:10:00 AM all 3.82 0.00 0.81 95.37
06:20:00 AM all 5.94 0.00 1.07 92.99
06:30:00 AM all 2.21 0.00 0.72 97.08
06:40:00 AM all 3.48 0.00 1.24 95.28
06:50:00 AM all 2.53 0.00 0.76 96.71
07:00:00 AM all 2.30 0.00 0.72 96.98
07:10:00 AM all 2.91 0.00 0.93 96.16
07:20:00 AM all 3.54 0.00 0.95 95.51
07:30:00 AM all 2.65 0.00 0.86 96.49
07:40:00 AM all 3.02 0.00 0.96 96.02
07:50:00 AM all 2.90 0.00 0.86 96.24
08:00:00 AM all 3.28 0.00 0.95 95.77
08:10:00 AM all 3.45 0.00 1.09 95.46
08:20:00 AM all 3.46 0.00 1.02 95.52
08:30:00 AM all 4.98 0.00 1.27 93.75

08:30:00 AM CPU %user %nice %system %idle
08:40:00 AM all 5.69 0.00 1.54 92.78
08:50:00 AM all 6.98 0.00 1.63 91.38
09:00:00 AM all 7.73 0.00 1.94 90.32
09:10:00 AM all 7.65 0.00 1.97 90.37
09:20:00 AM all 8.12 0.00 2.09 89.78
09:30:01 AM all 12.55 0.00 2.46 84.99
09:40:00 AM all 13.31 0.00 2.49 84.19
09:50:00 AM all 11.41 0.00 2.56 86.03
10:00:00 AM all 9.41 0.00 2.37 88.21
10:10:01 AM all 10.06 0.00 2.34 87.60
10:20:00 AM all 9.69 0.00 2.37 87.94
10:30:00 AM all 10.86 0.00 2.55 86.59
Average: all 4.21 0.03 1.17 94.59
nagios@cubic:~>
byjabbasi, May 13, 2013
I ran it with option show on the page on Suse linux 11 and I get following output

nagios@cubic:~> ./check_cpu_stats.sh -w 90,40,30 -c 90,50,40 -i 3 -n 5
./check_cpu_stats.sh: line 172: [: 90,40,30: integer expression expected
./check_cpu_stats.sh: line 175: [: 90,50,40: integer expression expected
CPU STATISTICS OK : user=6.50% system=1.33% iowait=92.17% idle=% nice=0.00% | CpuUser=6.50;CpuSystem=1.33;CpuIoWait=92.17;CpuIdle=;CpuNice=0.00;90,40,30;90,50,40
nagios@cubic:~>

Integre expression expected is one issue and second thing idle is always empty.
if I run it like this then i don't get integer expression but Idle is still empty

nagios@cubic:~> ./check_cpu_stats.sh -w 90 -c 95 -i 2 -n 10
CPU STATISTICS WARNING : user=7.25% system=2.62% iowait=90.12% idle=% nice=0.00% | CpuUser=7.25;CpuSystem=2.62;CpuIoWait=90.12;CpuIdle=;CpuNice=0.00;90;95
nagios@cubic:~>

also you can see that its warning just because IoWait is hitting 90%